What Can We Help You With?

Disconnect Vs Delete

Question #

What is the difference between the disconnect link and delete icon?

Answer #

The difference between the disconnect link and delete icon is significant. 

One thing to remember is currently the platform uses two databases for its data storage. Archive and Active.  Archive data cannot be deleted by a User.  The data inside Active can be. 

In a few of the platform’s objects you will see the choice of delete or disconnect.   

Delete #

When you Click on Delete, the following actions happen:

  • The Platform Disconnects the Object from the Archive.
  • The Platform Deletes the Object from the Active Database.  
  • The Platform Deletes from the Active Database any records connected to the object.
    • Example 1:  Delete Gateway – Disconnects the Gateway/Device/Points.  Deletes the Point Data from the Active Database.  Deletes the Gateway/Device/Points from the Active Database
    • Example 2:  Delete Device – Disconnects the Device/Points.  Deletes the Point Data from the Active Database.  Deletes the Device/Points from the Active Database
    • Example 3:  Delete Point – Disconnects the Point.  Deletes the Point Data from the Active Database.  Deletes the Point from the Active Database

Disconnect #

When you Click the Disconnect link, the following actions happen:

  • The Platform Disconnects the Object from the Archive.
  • The Platform Deletes from the Active Database any records connected to the object.
    • Example 1:  Disconnect Gateway – Disconnects the Gateway/Device/Points.  Deletes the Point Data from the Vitality Database
    • Example 2:  Disconnect Device – Disconnects the Device/Points.  Deletes the Point Data from the Vitality Database
    • Example 3:  Disconnect Point – Disconnects the Point.  Deletes the Point Data from the Vitality Database
Was This Article Helpful?
Scroll to Top